A Complete List Of Winners From Classic Physique Olympia


All of your winners of the Classic Physique division at Mr. Olympia.

Mr. Olympia is a bodybuilding show fans, and competitors look forward to every year. This competition is the premiere example of physical specimens, a real test of who has worked the hardest all year to build, sculpt, and tone their physiques into shredded beings. Athletes flock to this event to walk amongst the best to hoist that Olympia trophy high.

Joe and Ben Weider sprouted this event decades ago, in 1965, when Larry Scott went on to win it back-to-back. Now, “Big Rammy” is the reigning back-to-back champ (2020 & 2021 winner).

And while most people always hear of the overall Men’s Open winner, plenty of other events occur with plenty of competitors seeking the top prize. The Classic Physique division is one of them. This event may not see as many athletes competing as the Men’s Open, but these bodybuilders work tirelessly to see the results they want.

The Classic Physique division competitors don’t rely on sheer mass as much as the Men’s Open division. That’s why the athletes in this division have a weight division linked to their height–to prevent contenders from being too big. Instead, it’s more artful, and posing plays an important part in the judging.

The Classic Physique division has only been around for less than a decade in the IFBB Pro. So the list of winners is short. The first outing for this class took place in 2016 in Las Vegas, Nevada, at the Orleans Arena, with Danny Hester becoming the first-ever IFBB Pro Classic Physique champ.

Below is a list of winners for the Classic Physique division at Mr. Olympia. You will find a short list of repeat winners, given that these athletes put everything they have into making this event as great as possible.

Classic Physique Olympia Winners

  • Danny Hester – 2016
  • Breon Ansley – 2017 & 2018
  • Chris Bumstead – 2019, 2020 & 2021

Classic Physique Division

In 2016, Mr. Olympia expanded to include the Classic Physique division. Following certain rules and regulations separates this from other events at Mr. Olympia, but expanding allowed more competitors to want to compete, given that a better opportunity to win was possible. Plus, it only brings more attention to the sport, which is always good.

2022 Mr. Olympia

The 2022 Mr. Olympia contest will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada, from December 15-18 in an exciting event. As fan favorites and new up-and-comers seek to be the best, it will surely be an exciting event to watch and look out for this winter.

Wrap Up

Mr. Olympia is a great event full of amazing bodybuilding action, but you will find that these competitors always look to be the best. The Classic Physique division is a great category that has seen repeat winners but lends itself to the hard work of these three competitors thus far. Who knows where this event will go or if one of these winners will continue to dominate for years to come?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like