Every Winner of the Fitness Division at Olympia


Here’s a complete list of all the Fitness Olympia winners.

The Fitness division was the second category offered for all professional female bodybuilders who competed at Mr. Olympia. Initially, women Olympia competitors competed in the Ms. Olympia division from 1980-1994. Then in 1995, the Fitness Olympia division launched.

Of course, this helped female bodybuilding grow in the International Federation of BodyBuilding and Fitness (IFBB) Pro league. The IFBB Pro saw more female contenders with fierce physiques, ramping up the competition. Moreover, the Fitness division made some room for smaller athletes compared to the Ms. Olympia competitors.

Former gymnasts, cheerleaders, and dancers flocked to this class. That’s because besides having a muscular and toned physique, this division has posing. And contenders’ performances are crucial in this division.

In 1995, Mia Finnegan became the first woman to claim the Fitness Olympia division title. Since then, ten more competitors have won, with Whitney Jones being the reigning champion. This article will cover all the Fitness Olympia winners from 1995 to the present.

Fitness Division Winners

Winner  Year (s)
Mia Finnegan 1995
Saryn Muldrow 1996
Carol Semple-Marzetta 1997
Monica Brant 1998
Mary Yockey 1999
Susan Curry 2000-2003
Adela Garcia-Friedmansky 2004, 2006-2007, 2009-2013
Jen Hendershott 2005, 2008
Oksana Grishina 2014-2017
Whitney Jones 2018-2019, 2021
Missy Truscott 2020

Final Word

The Fitness division was the second installment for women’s categories at Olympia. And it’s helped shine more light on IFBB Pro female bodybuilding and has played a part in its continued growth.

This category gave other women bodybuilders a fighting chance who wasn’t as muscular as the Ms. Olympia competitors. In addition, this division doesn’t only look at the athlete’s physique; their posing and performance are critical. That’s why you’ll find many competitors with a dance, cheerleading, and gymnastics background in this class.

The Fitness division’s onset was in 1995, and since then, it’s seen 11 great champions thus far. Whitney Jones is the reigning champion. And she could very well win again, with many multi-title and back-to-back winners making up the champion list. But history has shown us that a winning streak can stop anytime.

Of course, as the reigning champ, Jones’ poses a serious threat to the division. And she’s looking to be the fourth athlete to have at least four Fitness Olympia wins. But with only one win under her belt, Missy Truscott is hungry for more and looks to become the sixth champ to have multiple Fitness Olympia titles.

The Olympia takes place this week from December 15-18, 2022, at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, NV.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like