Peiman Maheripourehir Out Of World’s Strongest Man, Manuel Angulo Named Replacement


Peiman Maheripourehir becomes third competitor to drop out.

Peiman Maheripourehir has become the third competitor to drop out of the 2022 World’s Strongest Man competition since the roster was finalized. Shortly after the announcement was made, Manuel Angulo was named as his replacement. The 2022 WSM is scheduled for May 24-29 in Sacramento.

Maheripourehir made the announcement via Instagram. He shared that he is withdrawing from the competition due to issues with his visa. The World’s Strongest Man Instagram account also shared the new and Maheripourehir commented “Damn the visa.”

Peiman Maheripourehir now joins Rauno Heinla and Mateusz Kieliszkowski as competitors who have withdrawn from the competition. There have been other who declined competition in the first place like J.F. Caron, Iron Baby, Graham Hicks and Zydrunas Savickas.

Maheripourehir qualified for the World’s Strongest Man in 2017 and 2018. He was looking to make his third appearance in the biggest show of the year and first in four years. Now, Angulo has a chance to make his debut.

Manuel Angulo is a strongman who hails from Chile. The 45-year-old has never appeared in the World’s Strongest Man competition. His most recent international contest came during the 2021 Official Strongman Games in Daytona, FL, where he competed in the Master’s Men Over 40 division. He did not finish in the top 10 of this competition. Now, Angulo will have a chance to redeem himself against some of the best strongmen in the world.

2022 World’s Strongest Man Roster

  • Pavlo Kordiyaka (Ukraine)
  • Rob Kearney (USA)
  • Gabriel Peña (Mexico)
  • Kelvin de Ruiter (Netherlands)
  • Kim Ujarak (Greenland)
  • Maxime Boudreault (Canada)
  • Mark Felix (UK)
  • Pa O’Dwyer (Ireland)
  • Shane Flowers (UK)
  • Jean-Stephen Coraboeuf (Australia)
  • Bobby Thompson (USA)
  • Aivars Smaukstelis (Latvia)
  • Adam Bishop (UK)
  • Evan Singleton (USA)
  • Eythor Ingolfsson Melsted (Iceland)
  • Konstantine Janashia (Georgia)
  • Trey Mitchell (USA)
  • Mika Törrö (Finland)
  • Luke Stoltman (UK)
  • Brian Shaw (USA)
  • Tom Stoltman (UK) — Reigning WSM Champion
  • Gabriel Rheaume (Canada)
  • Martins Licis (USA)
  • Gavin Bilton (UK)
  • Oleksii Novikov (Ukraine)
  • Kevin Faires (USA)
  • Nedžmin Ambešković (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Grzegorz Szymanski
  • Mitchell Hooper (Canada)
  • Manuel Angulo (Chile)

The 2022 World’s Strongest Man competition will feature four previous champions. This includes defending champion Tom Stoltman. 2020 winner Oleksii Novikov and 2019 winner Martins Licis will also be present. Brian Shaw enters the competition as a four-time champion at the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like